Project 365 Day #50…Pregnancy Fashion….


Hello All *waves*

Today i shall be stating my opinions on pregnancy clothing and what to wear when you are pregnant. I am currently 24 weeks pregnant and only realised that im in need of some new clothing to see me through the rest of my pregnancy. Luckily last month it was my birthday and i still had money left over so my mother came to visit and we went shopping yesterday afternoon.

Over the past few weeks i have been looking at maternity wear on the internet and to be honest nothing has jumped out at me that i would really want to wear. I have found it is either too Cliche with t-shirts stating things such as “hand off the bump” or “mmummlicious” which personally i should not have to point out to the general public let alone myself by wearing such a garment. The other clothing i have looked at look so plain! All bold and basic colours with small amount of detail. I like my basics like tank tops and cardigans but this spring i really want to look pretty when i am getting further and further along in my pregnancy. Not to mention the price of Maternity wear is that of ££ which to me, to wear for a few months and not be able to wear again is pretty much a waste of money. I would rather get something a little cheaper that would grow with me but allow me to wear after the birth of my unborn daughter.

Maybe i am just too practical in that sence but i really don’t like to just throw away money. Especially now that i have to think about my daughter and what she will need when she comes along and new baby stuff that is of good quality is NOT cheap. However, the advantage of my partner having a little girl gives us a little more leverage becuase he still has all her baby things that will be handy for our little one. I love my clothing and style dont get me wrong but i want to do it WELL while i am pregnant and not to look frumpy or just plain fat. So i scouted Liverpool town centre on the hunt for some nice new things for me and my bump.

TIGHTS

I love my tights and fashion tights. Plain black tights to look classy…yes please and Fashion tights to look sexy and interesting. I normally don’t buy any other colour in tight appart from black but i did get a pair of Navy which i must say on today look really nice.I have mock suspender tights because they just look amazing and plani tights are always a key piece in any girls wardrobe.

ACCESSORIES

Another key thing for any pregnant women. You can dress up a plain casual outfit with some really nice accessories! Always a must. So i went and brought some Large earings (a must this spring), rose ring and  hairbow on aliceband. I was really pleased with them and they look really nice. Especially concidering i got a set of Acrylic nails done as well to top off feeling fantastic! So ladies bulk up with necklaces, bangles, rings, earrings, hair ties, the works! You will feel fantastic and look amazing.

TOPS

This is one thing i was very interested in now that i am pregnant. I want something that will show my bump off nicely but keep with the bright colours, bold patterns and feminine look that is in this spring! I did not get any “Maternity” wear in tops, just a couple of sizes bigger than i normally am. This allows for growth and gives me something to wear when i get back to my pre-pregnancy weight with a waist belt. I brouth a lovely vintage looking cream floaty top so that it skims my bump and looks classy. A bright coral coloured playsuit with navy trim and bows. Another vintage look that works really well with the navy tights i brought allowing for growth as there is no harsh wires or lines that are restricted. I also brought a MAXI dress. Something i have been VERY skeptical about wearing because they can go a good way or a bad way. It is red black and cream, something ideal with summer coming up and the floaty material at the bottom allows for bump to look fab!

The only thing i plan on getting that is maternity specific is cumfy tank tops 🙂 ONE because they are cheap and i want to doss about in them which will be cumfy for both me and bump. Now if anyone reading this is pregnant please comment with your marternity do’s and don’ts. I would love to hear them 🙂 and any advice would be great.

Comments & subs welcome<3

2 responses to “Project 365 Day #50…Pregnancy Fashion….

  1. I’m with you – i’m at 17.4 weeks and have been ordering bits and pieces from http://www.seraphine.co … Like you, Ive been concerned about spending a ton on anything that will only last me/or look normal for the pregnancy; what I love about the things i’ve picked up so far (jeans, a dress for work) is that they are definitely designed to wear post baby, can be easily nursed from, and will still look good while i’m working back into my pre-baby body.

    You are lucky that you’ve made it to 24 weeks without needing maternity clothes yet! I have some pics of things that i’ve picked up already on my blog – feel free to look. Enjoy the next 16 weeks (and beyond ❤ )

  2. Generally I don’t learn post on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very forced me to take a look at and do so! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thanks, quite great post.

Leave a Reply

