Project 365 Day#25…..Turning 21.


So the deal with why i haven’t posted lately is because i fially turned 21 and had a lot to do. This project 365 is really not going to plan as i expected or wanted it to. Mind you things have changed since i decided to conduct the project. So now i have to amend and say that i know i will deffinatly not be posting everyday but when i get a spare minute too. I thank all of those who read and take the time to comment on my blog! It really means a lot to me and keeps me motivated to do my posts.

Being a 21 year old is not all it’s cracked up to be…. It may be just because i live in the UK and we get to do everything over here at 18 years of age. We seem to have taken a really big American Tradition and put it into our own culture, which personally i think is wrong. The equivellant to an American 21st Birthday is an 18 year olds birthday over here in the UK. We can drink, drive, have sex and be an adult by the time we turn 18. The only thing that is majorly different about turning 21 is that you can drink in America. However, who is going to go over to America JUST to drink for their 21st birthday when they have been doing it over here for 3 years already? If you have please comment and tell me why.

I have no disrespect for those who like to make a big deal out of their 21st birthday no matter where they are in the world. It’s your birthday and me of everyone LOVES a good celebration. This year i had to take a different approach to my birthday. I am currently 20 weeks pregnant so i don’t want to go drinking or do anything too strenuous. I need to take things easy. Im getting a bump good and noticable now so i am VERY weary of myself and the baby i am carrying. Hence why i do not want to go out much and i certainly do not want to go drinking. I need to take care of myself. However, no doubt i will go and have a blow out on my 22nd birthday so that i can see all the people that live in my home town and we can all celebrate.

I turned 21 on Monday the 23rd January 2012. Me and my partner could not be more happy as we had a scan for our little baby. For the past 20 weeks we have been calling our baby “it” which is very impersonal and not the most precious of things. However, on my birthday it all changed as we found out the sex. We can now happily call our baby by the name we have chosen and the sex that it is. We were both so made up about what happened at the scan, the baby is all okay and moving around. Playing with her feet and using me to rock to sleep. Such a pretty little thing. I could not have asked for a better present on my birthday, it means far more than any present anyone else could have given me such as money or jewls. We then proceeded to take the day steady, order chinese takeout and spend an evening cuddled up watching films, i couldn’t have asked for a better birthday.

What did you do for your 21st? if you aren’t over 21…what would you like to do?

 

Amy.

 

One response to “Project 365 Day#25…..Turning 21.

  1. I can’t even remember my 21st birthday! I do however remember that we Americans could drink on our 18th birthday, it was changed a few years after that to 21. I also remember that I was going out drinking when I was 16 and I was actually being served at that age. About the driving part you can get your learners permit at 16 and start driving at that age, in America. Back when I was 18 and partying, it wasn’t such a big deal as it is now, although it should have been! Too many kids getting killed in drunk driving crashes! Congrats to you and your partner on your new baby, and good luck! Lots of HUGS!

Leave a Reply

